About the Sidney Bechet Society

The Sidney Bechet Society

Eric and company enjoying a SBS concert.

The Sidney Bechet Society was launched in 1997, one hundred years after the birth of Sidney Bechet.  The Society is the brainchild of Eric D. Offner, attorney and jazz scholar.  Its founding Board of Directors includes well-known jazz musicians, record producers, impresarios, writers, historians and photographers:  Bob Wilber, Jack Lesberg, Arvell Shaw, Dr. Michael White, Bross Townsend, Nat Hentoff, Phil Schaap, Dan Morgenstern, Clement Meadmore, Dick Hyman, Walter Schaap, and William P. Gottlieb. Daniel Bechet, Sidney’s only son, is the Honorary President.

Eric Offner also has an internet jazz radio show on the Progressive Radio Network.  New episodes every Friday at 7:00pm, and archived shows available 24/7.